Modern Piano Music Celebration

Date: Saturday, December 7, 2024

Time: 9 am to 6 pm

Location:

Calvary Lutheran Church 9545 Georgia Ave., Silver Spring, MD

Application fee: \$25 per student of WMTA member, \$35 per student of non-member.

Deadline: November 2, 2024

Eligibility: All ages welcome, including adults. First-place winners in 2023, please enter the Non-Competitive section in 2024.

Repertoire Requirements:

Any piece or group of pieces by a composer born in 1905 or later. For repertoire suggestions, click here.

<u>Modern Piano Music Celebration is memory optional</u>: no one loses points by performing with the music. This applies to all sections: pre-college, adult, competitive, non-competitive.

To teachers who would like their students to use the same repertoire in both the Specialty Competition and the Modern Piano Music Celebration: see the attached roster of Eastern European composers, kindly prepared by Specialty chair Mary Kading.

Format.

Sessions are held in recital format; to qualify for awards a student must attend the entire session. The final 10 minutes of each session are devoted to verbal commentary from the judges.

Time limits:

Level 1. Age 7 and under: four minutes

Level 2. Age 8-9: five minutes

Level 3. Age 10-11: six minutes

Level 4. Age 12-13: seven minutes

Level 5. Age 14-18: eight minutes

Adults: six minutes

Awards.

Non-Competitive: judges' critiques and certificates.

Competitive: judges' critiques and certificates plus cash prizes for 1st place winners and ribbons for 2^{nd} and 3^{rd} place winners.

Level 1. \$20

Level 2. \$40

Level 3. \$60

Level 4. \$80

Level 5. \$100

Benford Award: \$100 for Best Performance of music by a living composer.

Special rules:

- In the Competitive Division, students who arrive late or leave early will play for comments only.
- Students must provide the judges with scores of their pieces. <u>No photocopies</u> unless that is the only way of accessing the piece.
- Teachers of participating students must be available to help on the day of the competition.
- All participants are responsible for complying with U.S. copyright law. For use of copied or downloaded materials, refer to the WMTA General Rules.

Chair: Nancy O'Neill Breth (571-338-6411)

Co-Chair: Laura Marchisotto Bogart (703-556-9317)

ALL WMTA RULES APPLY.

APPLICATION FORMS

Only online registration is available.

Click here to access the electronic application form.

Modern Eastern European Composers (b. 1905 or later) of Piano Music

(This list does not include Russia.)

Albania

Simon Gjoni (1925 – 1991) Tonin Harapi (1925 – 1991)

Thomas Simaku (1958 -)

Cesk Zedeja (1927 – 1997)

Armenia

Eduard Bagdasaryan (1922 – 1987)

Edvard Mirzoyan (1021 – 2012)

Mikhael Tariverdiev (1931 – 1996)

Azerbaijan

Fikret Amirov (1922 – 1984)

Gara Garayev (1918 – 1982)

Tofig Guliyev (1917 – 2000)

Elza Ibrahimova (1938- 2012)

Belarus

Heinrich Wagner ((1922 – 2000)

Tatsiana Zelianko (1980 -)

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Sinan Alimanovic (1954 -)

Vuk Kulenovic (1946 – 2017)

Mladen Milicevic (1958 -)

Dino Residbegovic (1975 -)

Aliser Sijaric (1969 -)

Bulgaria

Gheorghi Arnaoudov (1957 -)

Marin Goleminov (1908 – 2000)

Michail Goleminov (1956 -)

Boyan Vodenitcharov (1960 -)

Croatia

Bruno Bjelinski (1909 – 1992)

Arsen Dedic (1938 – 2015)

Croatia (continued)

Milko Kelemen (1924 – 2018)

Ivana Lang (1912 – 1982)

Boris Papandopulo (1914 – 1986)

Czech Republic

Petr Eben (1929 – 2007)

Leos Faltus (1937 – 2024)

Vladimir Hirsch (1954 -)

Vitezslava Kapralova (1915 – 1940)

Geraldine Mucha (1917 – 2012)

Antonin Tucapsky (1928 – 2014)

Estonia

Eduard Oja (1905 – 1950)

Arvo Part (1935 -)

Urmas Sisask (1960 – 2022)

Eduard Tubin (1905 – 1982)

Helena Tulve (1972 -)

Part Uusberg (1986 -)

Georgia

Vazha (Vaja) Azarashvili (1936 – 2024)

Giya Kancheli (1933 – 2019)

Otar Taktakishvili (1924 – 1989)

Hungary

Gyorgy Ligeti (1923 – 2006)

Gyorgy Kurtag (1947 – 2019)

Miklos Rozsa (1907 – 1995)

Peter Eotvos (1944 – 2024)

Ferenc Farkas (1905 – 2000)

Zoltan Jeney (1943 – 2019)

Laszlo Melis (1953 – 2018)

Joseph Kosma (1905 – 1969)

Latvia

Talivaldis Kenins (1919 – 2008) Georgs Pelecis (1947 -)

Lithuania

Felikas Bajoras (1934 -) Onute Narbutaite (1956 -)

Moldova

Eugen Doga (1937 -) Max Fishman (1915 – 1985)

Montenegro

Dragoljub Duricic (1953 – 2021) Rexho Mulliqi (1923 – 1982)

North Macedonia

Jana Andreevska (1967 -) Stojan Stojkov (1941 -) Tomislav Zografski (1934 – 2000)

Poland

Grazyna Bacewicz (1909 – 1969) Tadeusz Baird (1928 – 1981) Joanna Bruzdowicz (1943 -) Kasia Glowicka (1977 -) Henryk Gorecki (1933 – 2010) Jan A. P. Kaczmarek (1953 -) Zbigniew Karkowski (1958 – 2013) Wojciech Kilar (1932 – 2013) Stefan Kisielewski (1911 – 1991) Krzysztof Komeda (1931 – 1969) Zygmunt Konieczny (1937 -) Zygmunt Krauze (1938 -) Hanna Kulenty (1961 -) Pawel Lukaszewski (1968 -) Witold Lutoslawski (1913 – 1994) Roman Maciejewski (1910 – 1998)

Krzysztof Meyer (1943 -)

Pawel Mykietyn (1971 -)

Krystyna Moszumanska-Nazar (1924 – 2009)

Poland (continued)

Edward Olearczyk (1915 – 1994)
Roman Palester (1907 – 1989)
Andrzej Panufnik (1914 – 1991)
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933 – 2020)
Zbigniew Preisner (1955 -)
Marta Ptaszynska (1943 -)
Witold Rudzinski (1913 – 2004)
Marian Sawa (1937 – 2005)
Boguslaw Schaeffer (1929 – 2019)
Kazimierz Serocki (1922 – 1981)
Marek Stachowski (1936 – 2004)
Pawel Szymanski (1954 -)
Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919 – 1996)
Maciej Zielinski (1971 -)

Romania

Vladimir Cosma (1940 -)
Gyorgy Kurtag (1926 -) (Born in Lugos,
Romania; but is considered Hungarian)
Gyorgy Ligeti (1923 -)
Dinu Lipatti (1917 -)
Teo Milea (1982 -)
Anatol Vieru (1926 – 1998)
Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)

Serbia

Svetozar Kavacevic (1950 -) Ljubica Marica (1909 – 2003) Milan Ristic (1908 – 1982) Dusan Trbojevic (1925 -)

Slovakia

Ivan Buffa (1979 -)
Jan Cikter (1911 – 1989)
Vladimir Godar (1956 -)
Alexander Moyzes (1906 – 1984)

Slovenia

Nana Forte (1981 -) Marjan Kozina (1907 – 1966) Marijan Lipovsek (1910 - 1995)

Ukraine

Leonid Hrabovsky (1935 -)
Ivan Karabits (1945 – 2002)
Igor Markevitch (1912 - 1983)
Alexander Peskanov (unknown birthdate, but still living)
Alexander Shchetinsky (1960 -)
Yuri Shchurovsky (1927 – 1996)
Myroslav Skoryk (1938 – 2020)