### The Viola Hartman Piano Performance Awards

**Date:** Sunday, May 11, 2025

**Time:** This is an all-day event. Participants will be notified of their recital time after the

deadline.

**Location:** Catholic University, Washington, DC

**Application fee:** \$25 per student **Deadline:** April 6, 2025

**Awards:** 1st, 2nd and 3rd places are awarded. Honorable Mentions are given at the discretion of the

judges.

Winners receive ribbons. All students receive critiques and certificates.

# **ALL WMTA RULES APPLY.** This competition is held in recital format.

Eligibility: First-place winners of the 2024 Hartman Awards are ineligible to participate in 2025.

Students who enter the Hartman Competition may not enter the Lichtenberg Competition in the same year.

## **Repertoire Requirements:**

Students through age 9: Two pieces of contrasting style not to exceed 5 minutes.

Students ages 10-11: Two pieces from two different periods not to exceed 6 minutes.

Students ages 12-13: Two pieces from two different periods not to exceed 8 minutes.

Students ages 14-18: Two pieces from two different periods not to exceed 10 minutes.

A Prelude and Fugue OR a Prelude OR a Fugue are each considered one piece.

A movement of a Suite and sectional pieces such as a Toccata or a Theme and Variations are considered one piece.

### **Special rules:**

- Simplified arrangements are not permitted, but concert transcriptions are acceptable. No method book pieces are allowed.
- Each student is assigned to a recital group. Students are encouraged to arrive 20-30 minutes prior to the start of their recital group. Students who arrive late or do not stay for their entire session may play for comments only.
- Students must provide the judges with scores of their pieces. All participants are responsible for complying with U.S. copyright law. For use of copied or downloaded materials, please refer to the WMTA General Rules.
- Teachers of participating students must be available to help on the day of the competition.

Chair: Junko Takahashi, jutaka@verizon.net
Co-Chair: Bonnie Kellert, bkellert@verizon.net
Co-chair: Grace McFarlane, gbottelier@gmail.com

### **APPLICATION FORMS**

Only online registration is available.

Click here to access the electronic application form.